MCMA Newsletter
MCMA Awards
Regional Groups
ICMA Information
Corporate Sponsors
Academic Information
Student Page
MCMA Conferences / Training
Code of Ethics
Links to Members Cities
General Information Links

MCMA | MCMA Awards



Craig Owens
City Manager
City of Clayton

CRAIG OWENS RECIEVES JAY T. BELL AWARD …Craig Owens, City Manager in Clayton, was chosen as the 2016 Jay T. Bell Professional Management Award by the Missouri City/County Management Association. Craig Owens received the award at the Association’s spring conference Awards Banquet on Thursday, May 5 at Camden on the Lake Resort in Lake Ozark. The award recognizes a member’s outstanding commitment to the profession of local government management. The award is the Association’s highest honor for its members. Owens has served the city of Clayton for over 8 years and recently led the city of Clayton through some major unrest due to the Ferguson protests, proactively obtaining special training for police and led an extraordinary communications effort with national media and residents. He has also introduced the city to the "Exceptional City Services Scorecard" which began tracking and reporting the city's performance, and Owens has received a Certificate of Excellence in Performance Management from ICMA each year since 2011.

Past Jay T Bell Award Recipients

Jay T. Bell Award Criteria and Nominating Information



Jennifer Gray
Assistant City Administrator
City of Des Peres

JENNIFER GRAY RECEIVES RICHARD R. NOLL OUTSTANDING ASSISTANT AWARD …Jennifer Gray, Assistant City Administrator in Des Peres, was chosen as the 2016 Richard R. Noll Outstanding Assistant Award by the Missouri City/County Management Association. Jennifer Gray received the award at the Association’s spring conference Awards Banquet on Thursday, May 5 at Camden on the Lake Resort in Lake Ozark. The recipient must hold an administrative position that is responsible for assisting the chief administrative officer in carrying out various administrative duties and other responsibilities. Gray has served the City of Des Peres since 2011 and oversees a wide range of city functions and her initiatives have improved city services, including the city website and newsletter and obtaining grants for several special projects. She is a very active member in her community and MCMA, and has spearheaded the ICMA Coaching Program for MCMA.

Past Richard R. Noll Outstanding Assistants Award Recipients

1992 – Robert Cumley, ACM, Springfield
1993 – Tom Kaleko, ACA, Blue Springs
1994 – Diane Doran, ACM, Kansas City
1995 – Brad Foster, ACA, Belton
1996 – Patty Gentrup, ACA, Liberty
1997 – Kathleen Mansfield, ACA, Creve Coeur
1998 – Kirk Davis, ACA, Lee's Summit
1999 – Pam Windsor, ACM, St. Joseph
2000 – Thomas Aiken, ACA, Ballwin
2001 – Robert Heacock, ACM, Independence
2002 – Eric Johnson, ACA, Blue Springs
2003 – Paula Hertwig Hopkins, ACM, Columbia
2004 – Brian Scott, ACA, Grandview
2005 – Todd Thompson, ACA, Raymo
2007 – Lenore Toser-Aldaz, DCM, Clayton
 Janet Watson, DCM, University City 
2009 – Scott Wingerson, ACM, Gladstone

2010 – Petree Eastman, ACM, University City
Jim Feuerborn, ACA, Raymore 
2012 -- Matt Harline, Asst. Dir. Administration, Fulton
2013 -- Todd Pelham, DCA, Blue Springs
2014-- Georgia Ragland, Assistant Chief Administrative Officer, Kirkwood
2015 -- Shelby Teufel, Assistant City Administrator/Finance Director, Pleasant Hill

Assistants Awards Criteria and Nominating Information